Scrolling...

Comments

• Here's a rough idea i had. Could you use the "captureDomEvent" in your kind to sort off supplement scrolling?
    I've also noticed on ios5/ipad 2, scrolling isn't really slow, it's just hard for it properly decode exactly what your finger is doing. I've noticed if I sort of lightly swipe up on a list, it registers as a flick, and it scrolls as desired. But if you tap, hold, flick and release, it stutters. It's kinda hard to explain, but i feel somewhere in the enyo code, there's a combination of preventdefaults/stoppropagation that's screwing up touch events. But again, I'm no expert in these type of things, maybe I'm not even making sense...
  • In my research on the log warning message that Phonegap seems to be throwing when that happens, people found two different things that seemed to affect it .. adding/removing preventDefaults, and using the event.touch[0].pageX and event.touch[0].pageY information, rather than the event.pageX and event.pageY information. That touch array doesn't seem to be very commonly present though.

And my understanding of exactly how to use them is pretty close to nil.
  • Since Android 2.3 seems to be the most problematic target here, I tried lists with jQuery Mobile 1.0 and Sencha Touch 2.0 Beta there.

jQuery Mobile scrolls its (non-virtual) lists very nice. But they scroll the entire screen, meaning the fixed header and footer disappear during scrolling and reappear when stopping, so this looks like a (cheap) trick.

Sencha Touch 2 scrolls nicely with very simple items in its (I think virtual) lists. When the items get a little more complex than one line, it slows down. They are claiming, that they have done various optimizations in 2.0 for scrolling on Android, maybe it's worth to take a look and borrow...
  • ...but not borrow directly, since Sencha's license is strict GPL unless you pay them lots of money.