What is best practice to pass data from parent to child of a child.

edited September 2012 in Newbie Questions
I am new to this enyo framework, I want to know how we can pass data to lower most child. Currently I'm storing data in published variable of Main Kind(parent) and than getting in its child by "this.owner.varName" and than again saving this to child published variable and getting the same in its child in same way.

Comments

• edited September 2012
    Take a look at Events, which can be passed between Parents and Children (including data)

https://github.com/enyojs/enyo/wiki/Event-Handling
  • I need more informations to help you.

How the data are send?
    • N -> N-1 -> N-2
    • N-2 -> N-1 -> N
    In fact the question is : Do you only know N or do you know N-2

P.S. N, N-1 and N-2 are your elements, (N-2 is a child of N-1, and N-1 a child of N)
    N
    N-1
    N-2

The solution (whatever is the direction of data propagation) could be a Dispatcher/Listener design pattern (that can be achieved by enyo.Signals or by sending an custom event through children or parents)
  • Thanks twtomcat and MacFJA for your help..... I am propagating my data from N to N-2 but when i pass data, only N-1 is visible to N, N-2 comes in picture after N-1 is created. Can we use custom events for sending data from parent to grand children?
  • Usually, for a parent to push data into a child, the parent just calls a method on the child. To go the other direction, the child posts an event with the data attached.

We have the waterfall and waterfallDown methods to allow sending events to your children. This is useful when you need to broadcast things. For example, in the CryptoTweets sample, I used waterfallDown to send letter guesses from the App/Controller to all the cells.