media queries and FittableRows/Columns

i'm just learning about media queries. translating to the enyo world, how would one go about changing fittablerows (say map/image, list, toolbar top to bottom) to fittablecolumns (toolbar, map/image, list left to right)? is something like this possible? the only alternative i can think of is to have both ways hardcoded and just hide the one i don't need when the screen size changes (but that seems like an awful redundant waste).

thanks!

Comments

• Usually, for handling different screen widths, we encourage the use of enyo.Panels which have the ability to collapse to a single panel view (see how our Sampler reacts to being shrunk, for example).
  • thanks! but that shows me how to collapse, where i'm looking to alter. if i'm on a tablet or smartphone and in portrait orientation, it makes sense to have my map on top, list in the middle, and a small toolbar on the bottom. however, when i go to landscape, it makes sense to have the toolbar to the side, show my map and list side-by-side.
  • edited May 2013
    This is very basic example of how you could achieve this, though it doesn't use media queries: http://jsfiddle.net/arthurthornton/45khD/

Media queries wouldn't work for this because what they're for is, for example, saying that if the viewport width is under 400px, do certain styling; or to change styling when printing; you can see this in action by opening http://enyojs.com and resizing the window since we built it using media queries with mobile in mind. Basically, with media queries, you can change styling of elements but you can't change their classes or execute JS based on them. Since Fittable itself calculates and sets the width and/or height for you, that's not something media queries could alter.